Kaduna clinch Veterans Cup

18 October 2014

Hosts Kaduna on Saturday won the 7th Veterans Cup after they edged past Lagos 3-2 in the final at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium in Kaduna.

 The annual competition, which is for top former internationals, was sponsored by Shehu Dikko.

 Winners Kaduna, who lined up the likes of Ishaya Jatau, Taju Oyekanmi and Reuben Jackson, were presented their trophy by Kaduna State commissioner for sports Bashir Zubairu.

 General secretary of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) Musa Amadu and sponsor Shehu Dikko also graced the occasion.

Shehu Dikko started for the champions and was later replaced in the second half.

 Edo edged Abuja 5-4 on penalties after there were no goals at full time to win third place.

 In the final, Lagos, who paraded Friday Ekpo, Godwin Okpara, Gbenga Okunowo and Teslim Fatusi, stunned the home team with a goal by former Eagles star Victor Agali, before Bilyaminu Nasiru drew Kaduna level from the penalty spot.

 Lagos, who paraded several other stars like Edema Benson, Godwin Okpara and Teslim Fatusi, regained their lead again through Agali before another ex-Eagles star Garba Lawal equalised for Kaduna.

 The championship winner was scored by Abubakar Balarabe aka Keegan.

 A dinner to mark the end of the three-day tournament was also staged.

Facebook Comments